Candidates Trained In Kentucky

Candidates trained in Kentucky must:
  • Complete an Educator Preparation Program approved by the EPSB;
  • Complete an application;
  • Submit official transcripts of all graduate and undergraduate coursework;
  • Have the Superintendent or Personnel Director verify full-time classroom teaching experience at the appropriate grade level(s) (Section 2 of application);
  • Pass the appropriate assessments for EACH area of certification being sought and the Principles of Learning and Teaching test score for appropriate grade range.
  • Submit verification of completion of teacher preparation program from the preparing college or university (Section 5 of application); and
  • Make the appropriate payment through ePay online payment service for certification fees. Please note that any other forms of payment are not accepted and will be returned to the applicant.

Statement of Eligibility (SOE) (Teacher)

  • The SOE allows candidates five (5) years to apply and receive employment as a teacher in a Kentucky school. During the first year of employment, the Kentucky Teacher Internship Program (KTIP) must be successfully completed.
  • If the internship is not completed within the five (5) year period, the applicant may renew the SOE by repeating and passing the assessment program in effect for new teachers at that time or by completing a minimum of six (6) graduate hours toward completion of a graduate program required by administrative regulations promulgated by the Education Professional Standards Board.
  • The option for renewal through completion of graduate hours shall be available only for the first renewal.


Application Process due to the suspension of the Kentucky Teacher Internship Program


Teachers who currently hold a valid SOE

The applicant is to complete the following portions of the PAPER COPY of the CA-1 Application:

  • CA-1 Page 1, section 1, sub section A – Personal Information
  • CA-1 Page 1, section 1, sub section B – Type of certificate requested (Check Other and write Professional on the line provided)
  • CA-1 Page 3, section 3, sub section C – Disclosure of background information (Be sure to sign and date BOTH lines at the bottom of the page) 
  • Sections 2 and 5 of the CA-1 are not required to be completed

Mail completed application to: EPSB, 100 Airport Rd, Third Floor, Frankfort, KY 40601. 

There is an $85 certification fee for the issuance of the 5 year Professional certificate. The fee must be paid online through Epay.


Teachers who currently hold an EXPIRED SOE (and never completed KTIP)

To renew the expired Statement of Eligibility, either submit new Praxis II test passing scores required for the certification area, or complete an additional 6 semester hours of approved graduate credit. Renewal of an SOE using 6 graduate hours is a one-time only option

The applicant is to complete the following portions of the PAPER COPY of the CA-1 Application:

  • CA-1 Page 1, section 1, sub section A – Personal Information
  • CA-1 Page 1, section 1, sub section B – Type of certificate requested (Check Statement of Eligibility and write Renewal on the line provided AND Check Other and write Professional)
  • CA-1 Page 3, section 3, sub section C – Disclosure of background information (Be sure to sign and date BOTH lines at the bottom of the page) 
  • Sections 2 and 5 of the CA-1 are not required to be completed

Mail completed application to: EPSB, 100 Airport Rd, Third Floor, Frankfort, KY 40601. 

There is an $85 certification fee for the renewal of the SOE and issuance of the 5 year Professional certificate.  The fee must be paid online through Epay.


Traditional and alternate route program completers (completed all coursework and have valid, passing scores on all required assessments)

The applicant is to complete the paper copy of the CA-1 Application:

  • Send the completed Paper copy of the CA-1 to the Educator Preparation Provider who will complete section 5 for certificate recommendation .

There is an $85 certification fee for processing and issuance of the 5 year Professional certificate. The fee must be paid online through Epay.


Last modified: Thursday, May 31, 2018, 6:17 AM